NCS - The Natural Colour System



NCS is the understandable international colour order system for colour selection, specification, communication and the control of colour in design, architecture, research, marketing and manufacturing. It is based on how people see colour.

The logical colour notation system builds on how humans see colour; a notation represents a specific colour precept and describes the colour visually. It is not dependant on the limitations caused by pigments, light rays or nerve signals.

The Swedish government took the initiative on colour determination and classification in the 1950s and what has evolved is the NCS, which has become the international standard for colour classification. South Africa is compliant; the South African Standard (SANS 1091), which adopts NCS, was enabled in 2004. For additional information www.ncscolour.com
Read more about us

NCS in South Africa

NCS is now the national standard for South Africa. Most manufacturers should be able to match the system, given that it is based on how the human eye perceives colour. Contact Standards South Africa (a division of the SABS)

Lisa Taylor

lisa-taylor-profile-smLisa Taylor has been active in the South African architectural, design and décor scene for many years providing analysis and forecasting information to leading manufacturers within those industries.
Read more

CONNECT WITH US

Newsletter Subscribe

NCS Atlas
€ 384,00
NCS Index
€ 172,00
NCS Colour Scan
€ 599,00
NCS Exterior
€ 370,00

COLOUR COURSES AND NEWS

01 Jan, 2016
Upcoming Courses in 2016

We offer courses anywhere in Africa - please e-mail info@ncscolour.co.za with your request and we will gladly set up a course in your area.

International use of colour in Architecture
Advanced NCS Colour Course

Use of colour in International Architecture - Upcoming dates

Wednesday 6 July 2016 in Johannesburg
Friday 15 July 2016 in McGregor along with Slow Wine Weekend
Tuesday 26 July 2016 in Stellenbosch
Wednesday 10 August 2016 in Durban
Wednesday 14 September 2016 in Durban
Tuesday 20 September 2016 in Cape Town
Wednesday 12 October 2016 in Durban
Wednesday 2 November 2016 in Johannesburg
Tuesday 22 November 2016 in Cape Town

Advanced Colour Design - Upcoming dates

Thursday 7 July 2016 in Johannesburg
Wednesday 27 July 2016
in Stellenbosch
Wednesday 21 September 2016
in Cape Town
Thursday 3 November 2016
in Johannesburg
Wednesday 23 November 2016
in Cape Town

CONTACT NCS Colour Centre SA

NCS Colour Centre SA
P.O.Box 1038, Robertson, Western Cape, 6705, South Africa

Mobile: +27 (0) 82 900 7909

SEND MESSAGE